A day at Broadway Market

August 31, 2012 § 3 Comments

I had friends visiting from Belgium two weekends ago, the weather was uncharacteristically gorgeous, and it seemed like the ideal occasion to take my Diana on her first outing. Collecting the prints yesterday was… let’s say, a rather humbling experience. My suspicions about having failed to advance the film properly turned out to be all too well-founded, and I clearly have a bit to learn about choosing shutter speeds (I erred on the side of too fast). And the first couple of shots I took while we walked along the canal from Haggerston station were mysteriously nowhere to be found… but if nothing else, it’s an excuse to go back another weekend with a fresh roll of film.

That said, it wasn’t all bad news. I had enough good shots/happy accidents to give some sense of what the day was like:

There’s a Vietnamese iced coffee stall that sets up in a tiny sidestreet off the main market. They set out tables and chairs, which make for prime people-watching while you nurse your coffee. We were hot and tired by the time we got to the market and this place looked (and tasted) like heaven. Probably my favourite shot, and an accident (under-winding the film) at that!

One of the best bits about Broadway Market (in summer, anyway) – London Fields is at the top of the street. An ideal place to sprawl on the grass with lunch and watch the clouds and the sunlight filtering through the plane trees.

Teapots in a café window. Sadly underexposed, but I still like the composition.

A little street music.

The sky above Broadway Market.

A crateful of (unintentionally rainbow-hued) romanesco. The stallholder saw me with my camera and said ‘it’s a pound per photo, love’… I hope he was joking!

A few things that got away:

I took a couple of photos of a display of chairs on the pavement in front of Stella Blunt (a fabulous vintage furniture shop). They came out more or less black, to my chagrin – my fault entirely. Ms Blunt, if you happen to be reading this, don’t hire me to do any publicity photos for you. At least, not yet.

Tamami was on a much-deserved holiday so I didn’t get to photograph the gorgeous cakes and tarts on her stall (or indeed, buy any).

It was too hot a day for a single iced coffee to suffice – we ended up buying green coconuts from Benjammin the Caribbean Chef, which was proudly touting the fact that Usain Bolt had eaten there. The coconut water was great. I forgot to take any photos. And I’m sorry to report that eating (well, drinking) there did not transform me into the fastest woman in the universe.

All in all, probably not a bad result for a first attempt. If nothing else, the botched photos are a good excuse to go back to Broadway Market… and in the meantime, I’m now waiting for my second roll of film to come back. Watch this space…

Tagged: , ,

§ 3 Responses to A day at Broadway Market

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A day at Broadway Market at Dreams on Paper.

meta

