My old Montmartre home

May 28, 2013 § 2 Comments

I spent three months of the second year of my PhD doing research in Paris. (Life is rough.) I ended up living in Montmartre. (Really rough.) Will I elicit any sympathy at all if I say that it was late autumn, very grey, I knew no one in Paris and I didn’t live in a glamorously shabby garret but was the lodger of a strange, cranky middle-aged bachelor who could have emerged from the pages of a Balzac novel?

Happily, any bad associations with Montmartre have been smoothed away, although in all the time I’ve spent there since, I’ve never thought to take a camera with me. On a weekend of glorious sunshine last month, I decided to take my boyfriend on a walking tour of my old neighbourhood, camera in hand. (The photos were taken a week after those in the last post – hard to believe, eh?)

montmartre 1montmartre 2montmartre 3montmartre 4montmartre 5montmartre 6montmartre 7montmartre 8montmartre 9

(Technical specs: Diana F+ camera, super-wide angle lens, Lady Grey 400 black and white film)

Tagged: ,

§ 2 Responses to My old Montmartre home

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My old Montmartre home at Dreams on Paper.

meta

