In the graveyard

December 12, 2013 § 5 Comments

Well, not just any graveyard – one that’s had the honour of being painted by Van Gogh and Gauguin.

I’m talking about Les Alyscamps, the ancient Roman cemetery in Arles. It wasn’t my first time there, but it’s probably fair to say it was the first time I saw it properly: the first time it had been one of many Roman monuments to tick off a list before I flung myself onto an early-morning train to Nice. This time I allowed myself to amble slowly along the path lined with battered stone sarcophagi, so weather-beaten they could almost have been the bones of a giant left to bleach and weather in the sun.

I shot this roll on a blazingly hot day in August; it was  a slower film than I normally use (100 rather 400) and I think it’s safe to say I have a few things to learn about what shutter settings will work with it. Still, one of the advantages of this camera is that even the failures are interesting (to me, at least)…

Alyscamps 1Alyscamps 2Alyscamps 4Alyscamps 5Alyscamps 6Alyscamps 7Alyscamps 8Alyscamps 3Alyscamps 9Alyscamps 10

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to In the graveyard

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading In the graveyard at Dreams on Paper.

meta

