Them bones (St Dunstan in the East, Part 1)

February 28, 2015 § 5 Comments

St Dunstan's 1

I can’t remember where or when I first became aware of St Dunstan in the East, but I must have filed it away in my mind as a place to which I would have to make a pilgrimage with my camera. (After all, anyone with even a passing familiarity with this blog knows how much I love a good ruin.) I knew I wanted to photograph it in winter, when it had lost its lush but temporary mantle of summer greenery and its old bones would be exposed to light and weather.

On a sunny Sunday three weeks ago, I finally made it – and to my dismay, so had about half of camera-toting London. Still, with patience and a bit of cleverness, I managed to capture it empty and quiet, still surprisingly heaped with skeins of vines. And despite the brilliant sunshine, in black and white it emerges surprisingly eerie and melancholy, the skeleton of a lost church adrift in its own dreams.

St Dunstan 2

St Dunstan 3

St Dunstan 4

St Dunstan 5

St Dunstan 6

St Dunstan 7

St Dunstan 8

St Dunstan 9

St Dunstan 10

St Dunstan 11

St Dunstan 12

And why Part 1? I’m planning to go back in high summer – with a roll of colour film, for a completely different side of the place.

(Technical specs: Diana F+ camera, Lady Grey 400 black and white film, standard lens)

Tagged: , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Them bones (St Dunstan in the East, Part 1)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Them bones (St Dunstan in the East, Part 1) at Dreams on Paper.

meta

