Spring blossom

April 19, 2015 § Leave a comment

Cherry blossom 1

This weekend was the first in six (!) that I spent in London, so naturally I went to Kew to see the spring blossom. The cherries were at their best (thanks Fran!) and I spent some happy hours enjoying them with my eyes and camera.

Cherry blossom 2

Cherry blossom 3Cherry blossom 4

However, I must confess I am not a wholehearted fan of cherry blossom. For one simple reason: they have a serious flaw.

No scent.

So as much as I love the way they look – the big fluffy pink ones like the petticoats of ladies in a painting by Fragonard, the white ones like banks of cloud – there’s another spring blossom that holds first place in my heart…

apple blossom

Apple blossom.

They might not be as showy, but the scent is quite possibly my favourite on the face of the earth – sweet and gentle, fragile and elusive, only present for a few short weeks every spring. Also, less obviously, the subject of a passage of Anne of Avonlea that has stuck in my mind ever since I read it more than twenty years ago:

‘I read somewhere once that souls were like flowers,’ said Priscilla.

‘Then your soul is a golden narcissus,’ said Anne, ‘and Diana’s is like a red, red rose. Jane’s is an apple blossom, pink and wholesome and sweet.’

‘And your own is a white violet, with purple streaks in its heart,’ finished Priscilla.

I was always a bit disappointed that it was plain, unimaginative Jane who got assigned the apple blossom. I always felt it would have better suited Anne.

Or me.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Spring blossom at Dreams on Paper.

meta

