The Broadway Market curse

August 13, 2015 § 6 Comments

Well, it’s finally happened.

I have become one of those obsessives who stalks eBay in search of expired film. There are currently a couple of rolls of twelve-year-old Fuji Velvia slide film in the door of my fridge, keeping the eggs and a knob of ginger company while they wait to be taken out for a spin.

I used the first roll on a trip to Broadway Market, not coincidentally the first place I tried out my then-new Diana three years ago. But Broadway Market and my camera don’t seem to be the best of pals. The first time I didn’t have a clue what I was doing, and the film was too fast for my taste (and therefore grainy… REALLY grainy. That was the first and last time I used 800). This time I shot the whole roll and then, as I was putting the camera back in its case, realised I’d had it on the wrong aperture setting the entire time. But there was nothing for it but to get the film developed and see what would happen.

Most of the shots, predictably, are too dark. But there were a few worth saving…

canal boat

canal

Mermaid

locks

broadway flowers

double exposure canal

I’m not discouraged; I’ll go back and try again. Third time lucky…?

(Technical specs: Diana F+ camera, Fuji Velvia 50 slide film (cross-processed), standard lens)

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to The Broadway Market curse

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Broadway Market curse at Dreams on Paper.

meta

