Spring awakening

April 7, 2016 § 2 Comments

daffodil double-exposure

No, Dreams on Paper isn’t dead. It was merely hibernating. And what better way to come out of hibernation than with some weird, woozy, dreamy flower photographs?

I shot this roll (my second and last very expired roll of Fuji Velvia slide film) six weeks ago at Kew. The first spring bulbs – snowdrop, crocus, daffodil – were out and it seemed a fitting place to take my first photographs of the year (in fact, my Diana’s first outing since Kraków). Only I decided to be a bit perverse, and on top of the unpredictability of expired film, I piled a totally unsuitable lens choice – a super-wide angle lens, when I was planning to shoot mostly in close-up.

Oh yeah, and the film didn’t wind as tightly as it should have. Cue massive light leakage.

But you know what? I rather like how they turned out anyway. Sometimes you just have to bow to the caprices of Lady Diana.

This also seems like a good place to say that, almost four and a half (!!) years on, the focus of Dreams of Paper is going to be a little different. If you’ve been a follower (thank you!) you’ll undoubtedly have noticed over the last year or so that my posts have gotten sparser and have been more and more photographs and fewer words. I haven’t stopped writing; it’s just that my writing energies are currently directed elsewhere, to another project that I hope someday I’ll be able to share. So for the foreseeable future, this is primarily going to be the place I put my photos. (I’m not going to change the name, since it still fits.) I hope you’ll come along with me for this new chapter…

000003000004000006000007

000008

000009

000010000011

000012

000013

(Technical specs: Diana F+ camera, Fuji Velvia 50 slide film (expired; cross-processed), 38 mm super-wide angle lens)

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to Spring awakening

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Spring awakening at Dreams on Paper.

meta

